Lacombe County Council re-Elects Reeve

During the October 23, 2018, Organizational Meeting, Lacombe County Council elected Division 4 Councillor Paula Law as Reeve for a sixth one-year term.

“Being Reeve of Lacombe County over the past five years has been an honour and I look forward to continuing my responsibilities as Reeve,” said Reeve Law. “I appreciate the trust and confidence my fellow councillors have in me, and I’m committed to working with this passionate group of individuals to serve Lacombe County.”

Reeve Law says that she is looking forward to a busy year, as discussions continue for Intermunicipal Collaboration Frameworks (ICF) and Intermunicipal Development Plans (IDP) – a requirement under the new Municipal Government Act. 

“I’m pleased to continue representing Lacombe County in the capacity of Reeve as we work through these agreements and build on the positive, long-standing relationships we have with our municipal neighbours and ratepayers,” Reeve Law said. 

Councillor Law assumed the Reeve’s Chair after taking the Oath of Office from County Manager, Tim Timmons, and expressed thanks to the members of Council for their continuing support.  No changes were made to the Deputy Reeve position, which is a two-year term. It is currently held by Division 5 Councillor Ken Wigmore, who was elected to that role during the 2017 Organizational Meeting.