Lacombe Regional Emergency Management Plan

Lacombe Regional Emergency Management Plan

In 2011, Alberta’s Minister of Municipal Affairs provided a $150,000 grant for the Lacombe County Regional Emergency Partnership for the implementation of a regional emergency response plan, development of a support system, and development and delivery of training to members of the partnership.

The Lacombe Regional Emergency Management Plan was produced and distributed through the combined efforts of the member municipalities of the Lacombe Regional Emergency Management Partnership. In the case of an emergency, the plan is to be cited as the official municipal emergency plan of the member municipalities.

The plan is one element of a regional emergency management program, which:

  • establishes a continuous improvement process to develop, implement, maintain, and evaluate emergency management in the region.
  • addresses the functions of prevention and mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery.

Emergency Management Alberta supported a regional response to an emergency, especially as transportation, weather, and environmental incidents threaten large areas and are not restricted to political and municipal boundaries. Lacombe County created a customized, functional Emergency Response Plan in 2001 and has worked with its partner municipalities to strengthen their ability to respond to emergencies such as the Fort McMurray Wildfire (2016), Southern Alberta Floods (2013), Slave Lake Fire (2011), and the Pine Lake Tornado of 2000.

Natural and man-made hazards, and the risks they present to our communities, have been increasing. In order for the plan to remain effective, it needs to be updated and exercised on a consistent basis to ensure sustainability.

The Lacombe County Regional Emergency Partnership includes the Towns of Bentley, Blackfalds, Eckville, and Lacombe, as well as the Villages of Alix and Clive and the four Summer Villages within the County.


For more information contact:

Drayton Bussiere
Emergency Management Director / County Fire Chief
Lacombe County
(403) 782-8959